SUPPORT YOUR LOCAL FESTIVAL SEND A DONATION TODAY

Events

A Spoonful of Murder with JM Hall

Author and playwright JM Hall talks about A Spoonful of Murder, a witty, page-turning, cosy crime novel, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, The Thursday Murder Club and Death in Paradise.

Retirement can be murder… Every Thursday, three retired schoolteachers have their ‘coffee o’clock’ sessions at the Thirsk Garden Centre café. But one fateful week, as they are catching up with a slice of cake, they bump into their ex-colleague, Topsy. By the next Thursday, Topsy’s dead.The last thing Liz, Thelma and Pat imagined was that they would become involved in a murder. But they know there’s more to Topsy’s death than meets the eye – and it’s down to them to prove it…

JM Hall is an author, playwright and Deputy Head of a primary school. His plays have been produced in theatres across the UK as well as for radio, the most recent of which being Trust, a BBC Radio 4series about the Academy school system, starring Julie Hesmondhaulgh. He lives in Shipley and is currently working on his second novel and a third series of Trust.

Age guidance: 14+

Location: John Smiths Stadium

Access Guide: https://www.accessable.co.uk/venues/getting-to-john-smith-s-stadium

Crime Fact v Crime Fiction with RC Bridgestock

Meet husband and wife writing team, Carol and Bob Bridgestock, creators of the DI Jack Dylan novels and lead police storyline consultants for major TV series, including Sally Wainwright’s Happy Valley and Scott & Bailey.

Their latest novel Persecution is the third in an exciting new series set in Huddersfield. Someone is breaking into student bedrooms at the local university, then a corpse is discovered on the outskirts of town – is there a connection? DI Charley Mann is determined to find out.

Bob and Carol Bridgestock met while working within West Yorkshire Police: Carol was a commended police civilian supervisor and Bob was the head of Kirklees & Calderdale CID and a trained hostage negotiator who worked on the Yorkshire Ripper and Sarah Harper murders. The Bridgestocks have a unique and authentic insight on crime fact v crime fiction and are currently working with Scott Free Productions scriptwriters on a five-part commissioned TV drama series.

Book tickets

Age guidance: 14+ (under 16s should be accompanied by an adult)

Location: Diamond Jubilee Lecture Theatre, Charles Sikes Building, University of Huddersfield 78 Firth Street, Huddersfield HD1 3BN.

Book this event with How to Solve a Crime: The A-Z of Forensic Science, with Professor Angela Gallop for a reduced ticket price.

This event will have LIVE subtitling to promote Access for All

Kindly Sponsored by Wilkinson Woodward Norcliffe & Co Solicitors

Crime Fact v Crime Fiction & How to Solve a Crime – Double bill

A double-bill of true and fictional crime featuring husband-and-wife crime fiction writing team Bob & Carol Bridgestock (2pm-3pm), followed by a talk by one of the world’s most eminent forensic scientists Professor Angela Gallop (4pm-5pm).

Carol and Bob Bridgestock are the creators of the DI Jack Dylan novels and lead police storyline consultants for major TV series, including Sally Wainwright’s Happy Valley and Scott & Bailey. Their latest novel Persecution is the third in an exciting new series set in Huddersfield.

Professor Angela Gallop is one of the world’s most eminent forensic scientists. A specialist in cold-case investigations, she has led forensic teams to find vital evidence in many of the UK’s most challenging cases, including the deaths of Stephen Lawrence, Damilola Taylor, Rachel Nickell, Roberto Calvi and many others. In How to Solve a Crime, Professor Gallop takes readers behind the police tape and into the heart of the crime scene.

Book tickets

Location: Diamond Jubilee Lecture Theatre, Charles Sikes Building, University of Huddersfield 78 Firth Street, Huddersfield HD1 3BN.

Age guidance: 12+ (Under 16s should be accompanied by an adult)

Both events can also be booked separately via the Huddersfield Literature Website.

This event will have LIVE subtitling to promote Access for All

Kindly Sponsored by Wilkinson Woodward Norcliffe & Co Solicitors